Covid-19: FG says Nigeria to bar flights from countries that block Nigerians

- Nigeria has raised a tough condition for international flights coming to Nigeria

- FG said Nigerian airspace will be opened to flights from countries that extend the same gesture

- Hadi Sirika, Nigerian aviation minister, made this known during the Covid-19 task force briefing 

The Nigerian government has strongly stated that the country will apply the "principle of reciprocity" when the ban on the international flight is finally lifted. This means Nigeria will only open its air borders for the flights coming from countries that allow Nigerian flights despite the ravaging effect of the Covid-19 pandemic. It would be recalled that the federal government announced the reopening of Nigeria’s airspace for international travel on August 29.

Covid-19: FG says Nigeria to bar flights from countries that block Nigerians

Nigeria said it will apply the principle of reciprocity on international flights. Credit: Reuters Africa. Source: UGC Speaking on Thursday, August 20, the aviation minister subsequently said Nigeria will only permit international flights from countries that extend the same gesture.

Sirika, who was represented by the director-general of Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) Captain Musa Nuhu during the Covid-19 presidential task force, said the decision was reached in the interest of Nigerians. The Council of the European Union had opened its borders to 15 countries, excluding Nigeria, meaning Nigeria was still not a part of the countries from where visitors were allowed into Europe. Sirika said countries that ban Nigeria due to the coronavirus health crisis will also receive the same treatment. “The principle of reciprocity will be applied. If you ban us from coming to your country, the same will apply the other way," Sirika said. Nigeria currently has 50,964 confirmed Covid-19 cases with 37,569 recoveries and 992 deaths as at Thursday. "On the list of countries (that are banned), we are working on the comprehensive list, but the main one that came up is when the EU opened their borders effective 1st July, Nigeria was among the list of 54 countries that were not allowed to enter the EU," the aviation minister continued.

Post a Comment